Feb 15

Frederick County Chapter: Cabin Fever Reliever!

Jeff Reynolds talks about the art of story telling, New England style

Apr 18

Frederick County Chapter: From Shy to Sold: Querying, Proposing, and Getting Your Book Published

Author Ally E. Machate guides writers through the submission process

Click here to view all MWA meetings.

Frederick County Chapter

The Frederick County Chapter meets on the third Saturday of every month at 1:00 at the Urbana Regional Library, 9020 Amelung Street, Frederick, Md.

Chapter President: Kari Martindale, [email protected]

Chapter Vice President: Linda Rondeau[email protected]

Chapter Treasurer: Jeff Reynolds[email protected]

Chapter Secretary: Nora Azzi, [email protected]


Latest News

Our Chapter recently hosted Literature Night Reading & Open Mic at downtown Frederick's Sky Stage, open to the public. Afterward, a community member approached me and asked about MWA. "What are the qualifications?" he wondered.

Do you like to write?  You're qualified!!!

You do not have to be currently published; and if you have published, it doesn't matter if you traditionally-published or self-pubbed. We have writers from all genres. MWA Frederick loves all the writers!

The gentleman also asked what we do at meetings. "Is it basically just writing prompts?"

NO!  Since we were chartered in January of this year, sure, we have had general get-to-know-you meetings, and we've had writing prompts at some meetings. But we've also been bringing in presenters (social media for authors, poetry, giving/receiving critiques, blog share, etc.) and have more coming up (fast-drafting, polishing your manuscript, the submissions process, etc.).  

We've hosted a sci-fi writing workshop and, most recently, a reading/open mic. Soon we will be hosting a Nanowrimo "Come Write In!" write-in. We are continually engaging with our writers and with the Frederick community, and WE LOVE IT!

So...if you're reading this wondering what MWA Frederick is all about, you've got your answer. Now come join us!


No forums selected.

Some material may be restricted to members. Please log in or join today to view members-only content.