MWA Writing Contest Announcements 

2018 MWA Book Awards

And the winners are:

  • Historical Fiction: The Eagle and the Dragon by Lewis McIntyre
  • Mainstream/Literary: Hawke's Return by Mark Willen
  • Mystery/Thriller: Abandoned Homes: Vietnam Revenge Murders by Frank Hopkins
  • Science Fiction/Fantasy/Speculative Fiction: The House on Moss Swamp Road by M.J. Patrick

The contest was open to all MWA members who had published a novel in 2016 or 2017, and winners were chosen by the MWA membership. Congratulations to the winners, and thanks to all 27 entrants!


Contest Rules

The 2018 MWA Book Awards are open to all MWA members in good standing who have published a novel (50K words or more) in 2016 or 2017.  There is no fee to enter; one entry per MWA member. 

Awards will be given in the following genre divisions, provided at least 5 qualifying entries are received in a division: 

  • Mystery/thriller
  • Romance
  • Science Fiction/Fantasy/Speculative fiction
  • Literary/Mainstream
  • Historical Fiction
  • Young Adult / New Adult

Co-authored books are allowed; anthologies to which the author has contributed a story are not.

Novels entered in the 2017 MWA Book Awards are not eligible to be re-submitted to the 2018 awards.   

Submission period is JULY 1, 2017 – SEPTEMBER 30, 2017.


  • Winners will be chosen by the MWA membership, ranking entries on a 1 to 10 scale.  Scores will be averaged to determine winners.    
  • MWA members in good standing may score entries, one score per entry (exact procedure still in process—details to come).
  • Critique sheets will not be given.  
  • At least 5 qualifying entries are required to award a prize in a genre division.  If 5 entries are not received in a category, the category may be eliminated or combined with another category, at the discretion of the MWA Program Chair in consultation with the MWA Board.
  • Entries receiving fewer than 5 scores will not be considered for prizes. 
  • Authors must score at least 4 other entries, in a genre division other than the one submitted to.  Entries whose authors do not fulfill this requirement will not be considered for prizes.
  • Awards will be announced at the MWA conference, March  23-24, 2018

MWA Members score individual titles. Scoring period closes FEBRUARY 28, 2018.


Authors should submit an image of book cover and 50 word max blurb on the MWA website. 

Members must be logged in to use the submission form. Click here go to the submission form.

Authors are not required to submit copies of their book; however, they are encouraged to negotiate a lower ebook price with their publisher for MWA members during the contest period, so members can read their books more easily. In preparing your submission, please have a .jpg graphic of the book's cover, and any information about how MWA members can find your book. More details will be available when submissions open in July. 


Previous Contest Winners

The MWA Novel Contest:

The MWA Short Works Contest:

2016 Short Works Contest Winners
2011 Short Works Contest Winners
2010 Short Works Contest Winners
2009 Short Works Contest Winners
2008 Short Works Contest Winners
2007 Short Works Contest Winners
2006 Short Works Contest Winners